Making Room for Racial Justice in the People Power Exploding Around Us, by Rinku Sen

So incredibly good you’ll find yourself going back. Rinku Sen’s analysis is not getting anywhere near the attention it deserves, please spread it widely:

My friend Anita Earls said once that in this country, we have something called “universal white man” standing. I don’t think Anita would mind if I added “straight” to that description. She means that white men are the standard of universalism, and if something doesn’t affect them, it is considered a side issue and not part of the universe. Given the terrible conditions in which the average white man finds himself these days, I certainly agree that we need to speak to the specifics of their situation. But addressing other systems of oppression, and the people those systems affect, isn’t about elevating one group’s suffering over that of white men. It’s about understanding how the mechanisms of control actually operate. When we understand, we can craft solutions that truly help everybody. Building movements that include groups that explicitly address the racial, gender and sexual dimensions of our economic system is key to that process.

Full post here!

1 Comment

Filed under DisOccupy

One response to “Making Room for Racial Justice in the People Power Exploding Around Us, by Rinku Sen

  1. My son and I are both biracial, Native American and of European decent. My son came to me through adoption, and actually has significantly greater Native American biological ancestry than I. To look at us, we are both very blond and blue-eyed, causing someone to make assumptions about our race. As the mother of a sweet, tender, loving and humanitarian 17 year old son, I feel very sad when I see anyone write about “the white man” as a pejorative. Soon, my son will be an apparently “white man”. Lumping all men who appear “white” together as if they are some type of disease is just as dehumanizing as the stereotypes of lumping all Native Americans or African Americans together. I hate hearing any humans referred to as dehumanized stereotypes. As a Mom who has a wonderful, vulnerable, wide-eyed son soon to be entering the adult world, it pains me to imagine him being received with such hostility. No child should grow into a world where he or she is not fully welcomed and cherished, seen as a gift to the world. I am passionate about Indigenous rights, and I am also passionate about human unity and love and peace and compassion for all people. Please show compassion for all people, because what we put out, we bring to ourselves.

Leave a Reply

